dental careshanghai dental
Oral Hygiene
Specialized Treatments
Dental implant
Orthodontics
Aesthetic dentistry
Overall Treatments
Snore Stopper
Regular Treatments
Oral Hygiene
Regular Treatments
Pediatric Dentistry

Health Consultation and Comprehensive Inspection
Professional Guidance for Tooth Brushing
Regular Professional Cleaning


iSMILE Shanghai Dental not only specializes in offering the highest international standards of oral implantology, cosmetic restoration, and orthodontic treatments, but is also committed to regular dental treatments and oral health consultation services. iSMILE Dental invited noted Japanese dental hygienist Kaori Ko to join our clinic. She previously worked in high-end oral health care institutions of Osaka and Kobe, having more than 10 years of clinical experience.


1. Health Consultation and Comprehensive Inspection


Why are regular dental check-ups important?

The conditions inside the human mouth (including temperature and humidity) make the teeth and gums particularly suitable for the growth of bacteria. No matter how we brush our teeth, there are still areas where the brush cannot reach, and this is the source of the problem. These places cannot be found simply by looking at a mirror, and so need to be checked with dental instruments by a professional dentist. Thus it is necessary for everyone to see a dentist regularly, getting periodic oral examinations. Many international insurance companies cover the fee of regular check-ups, as the costs for prevention are always less expensive than treatment costs after a problem occurs. Some patients with special conditions may need to pay more attention to regular check-ups. For example:


1) Patients who need to take medication for coronary heart disease and hypertension.

Anti-hypertension medicines of the calcium channel blocker class can cause gingival hyperplasia. Patients who suffer from diabetes are particularly susceptible to periodontal disease, and any periodontal disease left uncured can, in turn, adversely affect a patient’s blood sugar.

2) Long-term use of anti-acetylcholine (such as atropine and belladonna) or psychiatric medicines

These drugs can cause dry mouth, bringing oral discomfort or periodontal disease to patients.


What is included in a periodic dental check-up?

A dental check-up includes examining the patient for any of the following conditions:

·early tooth decay (or cavities)

·to check whether any previously added dental materials have become loose or discolored

·a periodontal disease check (such as gingivitis or periodontal pockets)

·to check the spacing and positioning between the teeth

·to check the condition of any crowns, bridges or dental implants and whether there are any new risks

·early detection of tumors or abnormalities within the oral cavity

After your oral examination at ‘iSMILE’s clinic, our dentists will make a dental health assessment complete with personal oral hygiene instructions and develop a detailed treatment plan for you.



2. Professional Guidance for Tooth Brushing

Most adults believe that the degree of force used when brushing their teeth will decide thow clean their teeth become, so why do I need to be instructed after having brushed my teeth this way for several decades? But in fact, many of us brush our teeth in the wrong way. Improper brushing or excessive force will damage the natural enamel covering of our teeth and could lead to periodontal diseases. Many people feel surprised when they see the number of pieces of dental calculus (tartar) that can be cleaned out even though they brush their teeth daily. In addition to other reasons, it is partly caused by incorrect brushing techniques.

With professional training, you can learn the correct way of brushing your teeth, as well as the use of other commonly used, home dental care products (including dental floss and mouthwash) properly in order to prevent the dental diseases from occurring in the first place. (See attached video below)



3. Regular Professional Cleaning

What is involved with a professional dental cleaning?
Commonly known as scaling, this is a treatment where the dentists use special ultrasonic or other equipment to clear out the "junk" between the teeth and gums (like dental calculus or plaque) and then polishes the tooth surface. This helps to keep teeth clean, keep breath fresh, and prevents the occurrence of tooth decay and gum disease. Daily brushing and flossing cannot replace regular professional cleaning, because no matter how often we brush our teeth at home, there always some places we cannot clean. This "junk" can only be removed by professional dentists and special dental equipment.

Does scaling damage teeth?

Scaling is used simply to clean the surface of teeth, and the ultrasound equipment or other instruments will not harm the teeth at all. If your oral health is already good and normal, there should not be any feelings of discomfort after scaling. The scaling methods used by iSMILE are equal to the highest international standards, which suggest twice yearly tooth scaling.

However, any of the following symptoms could possibly occur after scaling:


Teeth Sensitivity

The long-term accumulation of dental calculus (plaque) may have already resulted in receding gums. Prior to the scaling treatment, the calculus previously covered this part of the teeth and gums. However, after scaling, the calculus has been cleared away, which is now causing teeth sensitivity. Thankfully, this sensitivity is reversible, with the duration of the sensitivity depending upon how far the gums have already receded. The farther the gums have receded, the stronger the sensitivity and the longer the duration.
Loose teeth
When teeth have not been professionally cleaned for a long time, the dental calculus can cause severe periodontal disease, which in turn can loosen teeth. When the dental calculus has become thick covering the teeth solidly, you will not be able to feel if a tooth has become loose. Yet after the scaling treatment and the removal of the calculus, any loose teeth will be revealed. If this happens, you should immediately make an appointment with one of iSMILE’s dentists for professional periodontal treatment.
Gap between teeth increases

The previous buildup of tartar and calculus may have already resulted in the shrinkage of the gums (which increased the spaces between teeth) and may also have caused some periodontal disease (which resulted in some inflammation of the gums). This would mean that you would not be able to notice that any spaces that had already developed between your teeth. Yet, after the scaling treatment, the tartar would be cleared away and the inflammation would subside, revealing the spaces that have been hidden before.
Bleeding gums

Bleeding gums can mean that the bacterial infection has not been completely eliminated yet, and so you should see a periodontal specialist.

Can scaling spread infectious diseases?

Some people worry that scaling treatments could result in the spreading of infectious diseases, like AIDS or hepatitis.However, if the dental clinic where you receive the treatment follows dental industry standards for disinfection and cross-infection control, then you do not need to worry about being infected with any diseases.For example,HIV’s resistance to the external environment is relatively weak, as it can only survive for a few hours after leaving the human body. The virus can be killed in any number of ways, including being placed in a dry, high-temperature environment, or by using any of a variety of common chemical disinfectants (such as iodine and alcohol). If all the dental instruments have been disinfected and autoclaved properly before use, then scaling will never transmit any diseases like AIDS or hepatitis, since any viruses will already have been killed during the disinfection process.

Introduction Overall Treatments Oral Hygiene Wisdom Tooth Extraction Bad Breath
Our Philosophy Dental Implants Consultations Dentures Bleeding Gums
Environment Orthodontics/Braces tooth Cleaning Root Canal Treatments Tooth Sensitivity
Our Partners Aesthetic Dentistry Pediatric Dentistry Tooth Fillings Tooth Decay
  Snore Stopper Fissure Sealant   Tooth Whitening

shanghai dental | Home | About Us |Doctors | Service | News | Clinic News | Q&A | Education | Contact | Sitemap

Copyright © 2011-2012 iSMILE DENTAL. Designed by 7thDesiGn
沪ICP备11039466号

牙齿卫生保健
特色诊疗项目
种植牙
牙齿矫正 / 正畸
美容修复
整体治疗
止鼾器
常规诊疗项目
牙齿卫生保健
常规牙病治疗
儿童牙病治疗

健康咨询和全面检查
专业刷牙指导
定期的专业清洁


永颜口腔除专注于口腔种植、美容修复、牙齿矫正等于国际技术接轨的特色项目外,也致力于常规牙病治疗和口腔健康咨询等服务。永颜口腔特别邀请日籍牙科卫生士Kaori Ko 胡香織加盟,胡卫生士在大阪、神户高端口腔医疗机构工作,具有10年以上临床经验。

1. 健康咨询和全面检查


为什么要做定期的口腔检查?

口腔的温度、湿度和营养特别适合细菌的生长,牙齿和牙龈容易成为细菌滋生的地,无论怎么刷牙,总后有刷不干净的死角,这些死角就成为牙病的始发地。这些地方的隐患通过照镜子是看不到的,需要通过牙科医生专业的技术和设备,因此每人都需要定期看牙医,做定期的口腔检查。 国际牙科保险产品都会覆盖定期检查费 用也是缘于此,预防疾病总是比治疗疾病的费用低。
除普通人群外,有些特殊患者群更需要牙科的定期检查,包括:

1) 长期服用降压药的冠心病和高血压患者
钙通道拮抗剂类降压药会引起牙龈的增生,糖尿病的患者容易患牙周病,不治的牙周病又反过来影响血糖的控制。
2) 长期服用抗乙酰胆碱类药物(阿托品、颠茄)和精神病治疗药物的人
这类药物会引起口干,带来口腔的不适和病患。

定期口腔检查的内容是什么?
定期口腔检查包括以下内容: 早期的蛀牙(虫牙)、检查原来的补牙材料是否有松动脱失、牙周病检查 (牙龈炎,牙周袋,牙齿动度) 、牙齿间接触情况、各种金属或烤瓷冠、桥或种植牙的状况及是否有新的隐患、早期发现口腔的肿瘤等。 永颜的口腔医生进行完口腔临床检查后,将会为您口腔健康情况进行评估和口腔卫生指导,制定详尽的治疗方案。



2. 专业刷牙指导


多数成年人认为,刷牙力量大一点,就能把牙刷干净,而且我牙刷了几十年,刷牙还需要指导吗? 事实上,我们很多人刷牙的方式是错误的,刷牙不当或用力过大,会损伤天然牙釉质或导致牙齿疾病的发生。 很多人在医院洗牙的时候,看到医生帮自己清洁出的大块牙结石感觉不解,说为什么每天刷牙,牙齿上还有这么多脏东西,除了身体的原因,很大一部分是因为刷牙方式不正确造成的。
通过专业的刷牙培训,可以了解正确的刷牙方法和其他家用口腔护理产品如:牙线、漱口水的使用方法,预防牙齿疾病的发生。(添加刷牙视频---见附件)



3. 定期的专业清洁


什么是牙齿的专业清洁?
俗称洗牙,是牙科医生用专用超声波或其它器械清除牙齿和牙龈沟里的“垃圾”—牙结石、菌斑和色素,并抛光牙面的一种治疗方法。 可让牙齿干净、口气清新,并预防蛀牙和牙周病的发生。每天刷牙和用牙线不能取代定期的专业清洁,因为无论在家如何刷牙,总 有清洁不到的“死角”,这些部位的“垃圾”只有靠专业人员用特殊的器械才能去除干净。

洗牙会损坏牙齿吗?
洗牙是清理牙面上的“垃圾”,用的超声波或其它器械对牙齿是没有任何伤害的。如果牙周本身比较健康,洗牙后不会有任何的不舒服。永颜的洗牙方法与国际是接轨的,国际标准是每年至少洗两次牙,如果洗牙后出现:

牙齿过敏
说明原来长期堆积的“垃圾”已经造成了牙龈的退缩。洗牙前由于“垃圾”的覆盖,隔绝了刺激,洗牙后由于起到“隔绝 作用”,覆盖“垃圾”被清除,反而出现了牙齿敏感的症状。洗牙后的敏感一般是可逆的,持续时间的长短取决于覆盖“垃圾”造成的牙龈退缩的程度,牙龈退缩越多,敏感越重,持续时间越长 。
牙齿松动
说明太长时间没洗牙,洗牙前的“垃圾”---牙石已经造成了严重的牙周病,引起牙齿松动,洗牙前由于牙垢太厚,像夹板一样覆盖牙齿,您不会感到牙齿 已经松动,洗牙后由于牙垢的去除,松动的牙齿就露出了真相。当出现这种情况时应该立即找永颜牙周医生进行牙周的治疗。
牙缝变大
因为过去没清理的“垃圾”已经造成了牙床的萎缩,洗牙前由于“垃圾”的覆盖或炎症造成的肿胀,不会发现您已经有牙缝了,洗牙后由于“垃圾”的清除,炎症的消退,您反而觉得牙缝变大了。
牙龈仍然有出血
说明牙龈炎症没有因洗牙而完全消退,您应该及时去看牙周专科医生。

洗牙会传染疾病吗?
有人担心,洗牙会传染艾滋病或肝炎。如果洗牙的地方是一个规范的牙科诊所或口腔科,所有的消毒和控制交叉感染的流程都按标准进行,您在看牙时完全不需要 担心会传染疾病。艾滋病病毒对外界环境的抵抗力比较弱,艾滋病病毒离开人体后,常温下只可生存数小时至数天,高温、干燥或者通常用的化学清洁剂或消毒剂 (如碘酒、酒精或医院中经常使用的一些消毒药品)都可以杀死这种病毒。如果进入口腔的所有器械都经过消毒液浸泡、高压蒸汽消毒,洗牙时就不会传染艾滋病,也不会传染肝炎,因为肝炎病毒也在消毒过程中被灭活了。

永颜介绍 整体治疗 牙齿卫生保健 拔除智齿 口气重
永颜理念 种植牙 口腔健康咨询 镶牙 牙龈出血
诊疗环境 牙齿矫正 / 正畸 洗牙 根管治疗 牙齿冷热敏感
合作伙伴 美容修复 儿童牙病治疗 补牙 智齿反复发炎
  止鼾器 窝沟封闭 牙周病治疗 想把牙齿变白
 
iSMILE DENTAL. Designed by 7thDesiGn
沪ICP备11039466号